All Things Houmous! (My Top 5)

So if you know me in real life, you will know that I am a massive fan of houmous. I get through at least two big pots a week and when it runs out, I am completely lost as to what to eat for lunch. There has barely been a day gone by since I started university in September 2016 where I haven’t had my trusty carrots and houmous; it is my absolute go-to and I take it everywhere with me, including the silent floors of the university library, on a trip to Cafe Nero in town and even on an overnight dance competition where I desperately tried to keep it cold in the hotel room.

Seeing as I love it so much, I thought I would present to you my top 5 flavours of houmous and why I love them as much as I do.

 

  1. Plain Houmous

Image result for tesco hummus

I think you would be making a big mistake if you didn’t include the classic, plain houmous in a list of your favourite houmous flavours. Due to its (obviously) plain flavour, it means it goes with everything and doesn’t overpower the other components to your dish, especially if you tend to eat large quantities of houmous like I do! You can never go wrong with this classic dip and I’ve noticed that it tends to have a longer best-before date on it than all of the other flavours, so there’s a bonus right there as you can relax knowing that your houmous won’t be going mouldy anytime soon. The only downside is that, after eating just the plain flavour for weeks on end, it can get slightly boring and you find yourself craving other flavours to spice it up a bit. Overall though, a definite 10/10 from me.

2. Jalapeno and Red Pepper Houmous

Image result for tesco hummus jalapeno

Now, I only discovered this amazing flavour of houmous around June time 2016 after I had finished my A Level exams as I was looking for a bit of excitement in my life. I am a huge lover of spice and so I was really looking forward to trying this flavour as it has been given the two chillies ‘MEDIUM’ rating. Usually I am pretty sceptical of these ratings as they are never normally very accurate in conveying the level of hot-ness, however this time it didn’t lie. This houmous is definitely fairly high on the spice-o-meter, particularly if, for your first mouthful, you scoop out half the pot on one carrot stick. Be prepared for your mouth to tingle and for it to burn your throat a bit. Don’t let this put you off though as you quickly get used to it and before long you will definitely find that you’ve eaten the whole pot in one go (like I so often accidentally do…). The only slight disadvantage is that the spice can overpower whatever you are eating, so maybe stick to plainer foods (like carrots or bread lol). Again, a 10/10 in my eyes.

3. Red Pepper Houmous

Image result for tesco hummus red pepper

Similar to the classic plain flavour, the red pepper flavour has all of the benefits of the original, plus the added sizzle of everyone’s favourite colour of bell pepper (except for the yellow one of course). This flavour tastes particularly nice on plain wholemeal toast with some salad leaves and spinach on top, if you were looking for some recipe suggestions! Whilst this is not quite as extravagant as the jalapeño one and it doesn’t have as long a best-before date as the plain one, it definitely deserves a spot in my top 5 for being the best back up option if neither of the first two are available. I have tried a range of different brands of the red pepper houmous with some being a lot nicer than others, so based upon my current favourite of Tesco’s own brand, I am happy to award the red pepper flavour a solid 8/10.

4. Beetroot and Mint Houmous

Image result for hummus beetroot and mint

I will admit that I have only ever had this flavour of houmous a handful of times (one being today in Gourmet Burger Kitchen- would recommend), but I think that its unusual but tasty flavour combination warranted a slot in my favourite types of houmous. Believe it or not, I am not actually a big fan of beetroot or mint on their own so you might be wondering why I liked this flavour so much. Truth is, I have no idea. Maybe it’s because neither flavour is too strong and they both go surprisingly well together? Or maybe it’s also because it’s a really pretty purple colour, who knows! But either way, it tastes amazingly nice alongside some falafels and salad leaves so for those reasons, I am going to give it a 9/10.

5.  Lemon and Coriander 

Image result for tesco hummus lemon and coriander

Last, but not least, we have the slightly less exotic lemon and coriander flavour. I really love lemon flavoured things and so I was not disappointed when I tried this type of houmous. The lemon is never strong enough that it overpowers everything and it isn’t too bitter either which is fab because no-one likes bitter lemons. The coriander really helps to balance it all out and give it a more neutral taste which means it also goes well with a lot of foods. However, again, it is not one of the more interesting flavours of houmous and so I think that it is only fair if I give it the same rating as the red pepper flavour, therefore an 8/10.

Well that concludes my top 5 favourite flavours of houmous!! I hope you have enjoyed reading about my all time favourite condiment just as much as I have enjoyed writing about it. I am looking forward to venturing out and trying some new flavours so maybe in the future I will do an updated top 5 if I have made any new discoveries. For now though, I will be off to get some carrots and houmous (the plain one in case you were wondering) for my dinner before the kitchen gets invaded with pre-drinks!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

